Our County Commissioner Candidates


Jim Cain

I bring to Ashe County an educational, work and accomplishment list spanning more than 30 years. I also bring a reputation built during that time as a Manager, Director, Leader, and Commander who understands and uses appropriate technologies, is not afraid to ask questions to determine the facts, and actively works to solve problems. I have been repeatedly called upon to do things that others couldn’t at the State, National, and International levels. Ask me when you see me.

I believe these personal attributes and the education, skills, and experiences that created them make me the Commissioner candidate of choice. Read more...


Russell Killen

My name is Russell M. Killen and I am a lifelong resident of Ashe County. I am 58 years old and have been married to my wife, Diane Roland Killen for 34 years. We attend Jefferson United Methodist Church. I am the father of two daughters, Whitney Killen and Jessica Roland Hamilton, and have two grandchildren, Sawyer and Addisen. I graduated from Ashe Central High School in 1979, and became a graduate of Mendenhall School of Auctioneering in 1987. In the same year I started my business, Mountain Auction Company, Inc., which I currently operate from the Old Cattle Market in Crumpler. I have over 40 years of public relations experience through my roles as a manager, employer, and small-business owner.  Read more...


Beth Sorrell

 As Commissioner, I will work to make Ashe County an even better place for everyone to live. My top priorities include:

  • increasing availability of safe and affordable housing;

  • growing our outdoor economy by creating more green space and recreational opportunities leading to improved health outcomes;   

  • improving access to healthcare, including supporting our local hospital;

  • protecting our water, forestland, and other natural resources;

  • supporting education and the creation of jobs that provide a living wage

Read more...​ 

[“I” indicates Incumbent]

President of the United States

Joseph R. Biden


US Senate

Cal Cunningham

         website https://www.calfornc.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/calfornc/

         Twitter https://twitter.com/CalforNC

US House of Representatives District 5

David Wilson Brown

         website https://dwb4congress.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/DWB4Congress/

         Twitter https://twitter.com/DWB4Congress


North Carolina Governor

Roy Cooper (I)

         website https://roycooper.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/NCgovernor/

         Twitter https://twitter.com/NC_Governor

North Carolina Lieutenant Governor

Yvonne Lewis Holley

         website https://yvonnelewisholley.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/yvonne.l.holley

         Twitter https://twitter.com/YvonneLHolley


North Carolina Attorney General

 Josh Stein (I)

                 website http://www.joshstein.org

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JoshSteinNC

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/JoshStein_


North Carolina Auditor

Beth A. Wood (I)

         website https://www.bethwoodcampaign.com              Facebook https://www.facebook.com/BethWoodNCStateAuditor/

         Twitter https://twitter.com/bethwoodnc


North Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture

Jenna Wadsworth

         website https://www.jennawadsworth.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JennaWadsworthNC/

         Twitter @JennaWadsworth


North Carolina Commissioner of Insurance

         Wayne Goodwin

                  website http://waynegoodwin.org                                         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/WayneGoodwinNorthCarolina/

Twitter https://twitter.com/WayneGoodwinNC


North Carolina Commissioner of Labor

         Jessica Holmes

                  website https://jessicaholmesnc.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JessicaHolmesNC/

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/jessicaholmesnc


North Carolina Secretary of State

         Elaine Marshall (I)

                  website http://www.elainemarshall.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Elaine4NC/

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/Elaine4NC


North Carolina Superintendent of Public Instruction

Jen Mangrum

         website https://www.jenmangrumfornc.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/jenmangrumfornc

         Twitter https://twitter.com/jenmangrumfornc


North Carolina Treasurer

Ronnie Chatterji

         website https://www.ronniechatterji.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/RonnieforNC/

         Twitter https://twitter.com/RonnieChatterji

North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Seat 1

         Cheri Beasley (I)

                  website https://www.chiefjusticebeasley.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JusticeCheriBeasley\

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/justicecbeasley


North Carolina Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 2

         Lucy Inman

                  website https://www.lucyinmanforjustice.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/judgelucyinman

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/judgelucyinman


North Carolina Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 4

         Mark Davis (I)

                  website https://justicemarkdavis.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/judgemarkdavis/

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/JudgeMarkDavis


North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Seat 4

         Tricia Shields

                  website shieldsforjudge.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Tricia-Shields-for-Court-of-Appeals-107084957303170/

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/shieldsforjudge


North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Seat 5

         Lora Christine Cubbage

                  website https://www.cubbageforjudge.com                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/LoraCubbageforJudge/


North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Seat 6

         Gary Styers

                  website https://styersforjudge.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/StyersforJudge/


North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Seat 7

         Reuben F. Young (I)

                  website https://www.keepjudgeyoung.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/keepjudgeyoung/

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/judgeryoung2020


North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Seat 13

         Chris Brook (I)

                  website https://www.keepjudgechrisbrook.com

                  Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JudgeChrisBrook

                  Twitter https://twitter.com/JudgeChrisBrook


North Carolina State Senate District 45

         Jeanne Supin

         website     http://jeannesupinfornc.com/                                                   Facebook https://www.facebook.com/jeannesupinforNCSenate/


North Carolina House of Representatives, Dist. 93

Ray Russell (I)

         website  https://rayfornc.com

         Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ray.russell.7

         Twitter https://twitter.com/RayRussellforNC